top of page

Escaping the concrete jungle


Last week really bogged me down mentally and emotionally. It's been a little bit of a roller-coaster ride in terms of some work related situations but things are calming down and I'm getting back into the groove. When I ended last week I was mentally exhausted and I thought I would end up spending the whole long weekend (Happy Birthday Canada!) sitting in the house for a lack of plans or just feeling too "meh" to do anything. The week ended and still feeling that heavy feeling from the week I knew I needed to do something about it. I wasn’t going to spend one of the few long weekends the summer has to offer feeling sorry for myself and wallowing in that, so I made some plans to get out of the city for the day. And just like that, when the high rises and traffic faded into the background and I saw the ocean up ahead I knew I had made a good choice.

Deep Cove is in the eastern most part of North Vancouver thus giving you amazing views of Mount Seymour & Burrard Inlet. Having visited once before this past winter it was a place I wanted to get back to just for the calming feel it has. A small town with some amazing homes (Ben Affleck lived here over a decade ago so I mean there’s that) but my favourite part is the marina there. And over the last few months I’ve been hearing people talk about ‘Quarry Rock’ or The Baden-Powell Trail (named after the man who founded the Scouts program) that takes you on a 4k (return) trip up above the cove looking out for miles. The hike itself is one that’s doable for all ages and all fitness levels, taking maybe 35-30 minutes to get to the look-out point the walk up has stairs integrated into the trail and some bridges over a few streams. Well covered by some gorgeous trees you won’t find yourself too exposed to the sun if that’s something you’re worried about. Once you reach the top you’re gifted with a gorgeous sweeping view of Deep Cove and all it has to offer. Having been the day after Canada Day, as I expected the point was jam packed with people! But being in no rush whatsoever to get back we found a good spot and took in the view until the crowd cleared off and we could get some good shots.

It’s no secret to anyone that I don’t have a love affair with Vancouver the way most people do, so anytime I’m able to get out of the city and enjoy the day I take it! There’s just something about being surrounded by open skies and breathtaking views that makes my not so great feelings on the city fade into the back of my mind and lets me fully enjoy what I came out to see. The concrete jungle is good for some, but the way I feel when I’m out in the “wilderness” (aka anywhere not in the city) doesn’t even compare. And I mean this could just be me but wouldn’t you choose this view over high rises & traffic any day?

RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
bottom of page