top of page

WanderWomanWednesday; Chloe

A huge part of travel for me is the people I meet and the friends I make in the places I get to experience. Some of, well most of my best friends are people I have met while living overseas or travelling and the number one thing we have in common is that we get it. Get what? The whole travel life. The coming and going frequently, the moving towns often and regularly. The fact that we will rarely if ever live in the same place for long. And the feeling of saying goodbye/reuniting with each other. Soo when I meet people who share this passion and understanding I immediately want to know more about them and where their adventures have taken them. I find myself drawn to these sorts of people even if I've never even met them in real life, enter Instagram, Facebook & Twitter. The whole wide World of blogging has given me the opportunity to (virtually) meet people I would never have if it wasn't for this passion project I have.

When I first made the decision to move to the UK 2 years ago I got right onto Google (as you do) and started researching blogs about places I wanted to visit and in turn wound up finding a ton of people to follow on social media. This is when I happily stumbled upon Wanderlust Chloe! And let me tell you this London based girl has been around the World a fair few times now and that doesn't look like it's about to stop anytime soon either! Chloe has been a full time travel blogger since 2014 and has been exploring all corners of the World and sharing those wanderlust inducing adventures on her blog and social channels. Recently engaged to another blogger, they are taking on the World one place at a time and sharing it on both their platforms. Find out more about Chloe, where she see's her self in the future and so much more in February's edition of the WanderWomanWednesday Series.

Alright, tell all these wanderers about yourself…

Hi guys, I’m Chloe and I run the travel blog Wanderlust Chloe. I’m based in London where I live with my fiancé Macca (who’s also a travel blogger!)

I set up my blog around five years ago to share stories and photos from my travels in Central America. I quit a hectic job in media and decided to take some time out. It turned out to be a totally life changing decision, although I didn’t realize it at the time!

https://www.wanderlustchloe.com/

What is something people might be surprised to learn about you?

Don’t tell anyone but I sometimes miss working in an office… but only sometimes! I think people often think a life like mine is really exciting and glamorous – like I’m travelling the world 24/7, enjoying incredible meals and experiences all over the planet.

In reality though, I spend a lot of time working alone staring at a laptop. I really miss the office banter and after work drinks that go with working for a company. I love being my own boss though – no office politics or tricky bosses to deal with.

Did you always want to travel/what made you start?

As a kid I barely left the UK. I’m the youngest of four girls and my mum doesn’t really like flying, so the best option ended up being an annual family holiday to Devon or Wales.

I developed a thirst for travel in my early 20s. I really wanted to visit Mexico but none of my friends wanted to go on such an adventurous trip. I ended up going on my own, booking onto a group tour. It was incredible! I made a heap of new friends and so many memories too.

From there, I booked other adventurous trips, until I finally quit my job and decided to see more of the world. I spent over three months travelling to Mexico, Central America and Cuba. I returned with the post-travel blues, kick started the blog, and I guess the rest is history!

How do you decide where to travel to?

As I work full time on my travel blog, my year consists of a mix of paid travel campaigns, my own self-planned blog trips and proper holidays. I’m quite picky with the press trips I accept these days, and try not to go back to the same places over and over again.

Towards the end of last year, I booked a solo trip to Valencia in Spain, and planned a mini press trip for myself! I came up with an itinerary, booked some tours and then came back and wrote five blogs about the city. I’d love to do more unsponsored trips like this – definitely a liberating way to create content.

My fiancé and I try to go on a couple of holidays a year. Last year we went to Malta and Thailand. We try to relax, leave laptops and cameras at home and detach ourselves from the travel blogging world.

What is your travel style?

I’d say I have an experiential style of travel… I pack my trips full of experiences and try to make the most of every minute. That could mean anything from a food tour of Bangkok to volcano boarding in Nicaragua!

Top 3 bucket list places you’d love to visit?

I’ve still got a big gap in Asia, so I’d say:

The Philippines

Sri Lanka

Vietnam

You’ve recently gotten engaged to another travel blogger (congrats!), how do you see your lives changing (if at all) when you are married?

I don’t think there will be any huge changes just yet, but we’re both keen to have kids one day, and once we do I think we’ll probably travel less. I’d love to focus on UK travel a little more too, so that could tie in well.

Your full-time job is travel blogging and creating content, what are some of the downsides to this as a career?

It can be really hard to switch off. Websites and social media are 24/7, and I often find myself falling in the rabbit hold of checking stats or updating posts at the weekend or late at night, when all I meant to do was check the time.

It also gets lonely at times, but I’m very lucky to travel with my fiancé a lot! I know a lot of full-time travel bloggers travel solo all the time. I think I’d find that difficult long term.

On the flip side what are the biggest bonuses to being a full time travel blogger?

The biggest bonus is that I get to see so many amazing places around the world! I love getting a flavour of different cultures, trying different cuisines and seeing awe-inspiring landscapes around the world.

I think that travel really opens your eyes, not only to other ways of thinking, but also to yourself. I’d say that I’ve become more patient, understanding and compassionate as I’ve travelled more.

What is something you wish you could share with your pre-travel life self?

Haha tricky one – I guess that I shouldn’t be afraid to take the plunge and jet off somewhere unusual.

Best & worst travel moment?

Best moment – probably when Macca proposed while we were on holiday in Thailand last year. I wasn’t expecting it at all! In fact, I was very hot, sweaty and sunburnt! But it was the most magical moment, and we spent the rest of our holiday on cloud nine.

Worst moment – I had a slightly scary altercation on a trip about four years ago. I was walking back from a village shop and a guy tried to grope me. I sprinted back to my hotel and reported it. It wasn’t a dangerous place to travel to, just one of those random things that could happen anywhere. However, it was a good reminder to me to stay safe and alert, no matter where I am in the world.

Do you think social media has changed travel, and if so, how?

I think there are pros and cons to social media in relation to travel. I love following my friends’ adventures on Instagram Stories. I love the community element too. I also think YouTube is a fab place for travel inspiration.

I don’t like the pressures that go with the platforms though. I’m quite excited for the day that likes are removed from Instagram, and we can enjoy posting what we want, when we want!

Famous last words for all the wanderers out there...

Follow your heart! When I quit my full-time job five years ago, some of my friends and family were concerned I was making a mistake. I felt that the job was grinding me down and I desperately needed a change. I’m so happy I made the decision to travel – it changed my life and I’ve ended up turning it into a career I adore.

To find out where in the World Chloe is and keep up with her many adventures check out her social channels below

Pinterest

Comments


RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
bottom of page